Mystery Books and Authors

What to Read While Awaiting the Next Gamache Book

Last updated April 9, 2024

One of my favorite authors is Louise Penny. For many years, she has been writing approximately one book a year in her Three Pines series featuring Inspector Gamache. I have created a blog posting to track her work and her thoughts which I try to update every month or two. Inevitably, as her fans (many of whom reread the entire series in preparation for her next book) await her next book, they ask for recommendations of other mystery books and authors to read in the meantime. What follows is a compilation, in alphabetical order by author’s last name, of some of those recommendations. I have provided the nationality of the author, a link to a site about them, and the name of the series for which they are known. In some cases, I also indicate where the series was set. I have only included authors when I could verify that they wrote mysteries or crime novels. I will update or add to this posting occasionally as my time and interest permit.

Downtown Montreal, Quebec, Canada, May 2022

I have left off recommendations for authors who write only in other genres such as fantasy, historical fiction, or romance.

For a comprehensive list of mystery writers from around the world, I recommend that you consult the List of Mystery Writers available through Wikipedia.

Other miscellaneous lists of mystery writers and books

Spanish and Hispanic writers or mysteries set in the Spanish-speaking world

French writers of mysteries/romans policiers or mysteries set in the French-speaking world

German writers of mysteries or mysteries set in the German-speaking world

Italian writers of mysteries or mysteries set in the Italian-speaking world

Last updated April 1, 2024

3 Comments

Filed under Mystery novels

3 responses to “Mystery Books and Authors

  1. Kathleen

    Wow! That’s a lot of work putting it together. I might add:

    Nell Goddin, Molly Sutton series

    Susan MacNeil, Maggie Hope series

  2. Pingback: Louise Penny | Lifetime musings

Leave a comment